Prevention is the best tool against breast cancer

Do a self exam to prevent breast cancer

I will always remember the day my mother called me to tell me the news.

It was 2012 when she told me that my Nana found a lump the size of an egg in her left breast. What followed was actually worse.

She had found the lump a few years prior, however she ignored it because Poppop was terminal with lung cancer. Within a few months I received my own re-occurrence.

While I went with a more aggressive approach, my Nana -God love her- she chose an alternative treatment so she would not lose her hair.

I would send pictures of myself to my mom to share with her to see that radiation and chemotherapy wasn’t that bad. However, after a long, tough year my Nana finally succumbed to the disease that not only took her health but her mind in the end.

I will never know why my Nana, who was such a strong woman, chose not to fight, but I like to think that she just missed my Poppop.

The ending of your story

These past few paragraphs were written by Shannon, just one of the many women out there whose life has been impacted by breast cancer. What lesson can you learn from this story?

Besides not saying anything to her relatives about what was wrong, there is something else:

Check yourself

We can learn from other people’s experiences, and from Shannon’s story in particular. For all the young women, monthly self exams are very important, and clinical breast exams are even better, just to make sure everything is okay. If you have a history of the disease in your family, though, your safest bet is that you get a mammogram.

After your 40th birthday, regular mammograms are the best tool to prevent breast cancer from affecting you in any way.

It’s SO easy, so simple, and so quick to check yourself, that you just need to do it!

You write your own ending to your story, and the only possible words at the end of it have to be: “and she lived happily ever after”. As Shannon says: “Monthly self breast exams, and yearly physicals are the tools for early detection, which is key for successful treatment”.

Let’s save ourselves some trouble, shall we? And LET’S DANCE!

Write your thoughts...

