Public shaming because of something you’re eating!?

Public shaming for eating food

Your body. How conscious are you of it? Of the way you look? Of the way people might see you?

It’s the society, really, and I think that media has a huge influence in this too. The constant input of photos, TV shows, and films showing slim figures and girls who might not seem from this world (and some are really not, as they are significantly modified thanks to graphic editor programs) make you think twice about your figure.

But then there’s other girls -and boys too, don’t forget boys- who don’t feel like they have to subscribe to this image of what a “perfect body” is, and they feel perfectly fine with their current weight.

And what if you are eating something while walking to work? Or perhaps indulging in a scrumptious cupcake that you promised yourself as a reward if you finished your paper on time?

What if someone stopped you or caught your attention while you’re in the bus, nibbling on a yummy snack, just to make you feel bad about what you’re eating? That’s one kind of street harassment no one talks about these days. 

That’s the reason why we wanted to share this with you. No one has a right to criticize you or make fun of you because of what you’re eating in public. Don’t let them get you. Click here to watch this interesting discussion on the subject.

How would you respond to someone who mocks you because of your figure or what you’re eating? Tell us in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Public shaming because of something you’re eating!?

  1. I’ve always been self conscious of eating in front of people, even family members that I don’t normally see. When I was younger, especially in my teens, I would actually throw up because of the anxiety. That of course led to rumors of me being bulimic or anorexic, this would cause me not to eat in front of people. After I had my daughter, I realized very quickly that my health is much more important than what others think. Society has an idea of what looks good and not many people fit into that mold, its our duty to break that socially acceptable mold and promote individuality. Sometimes that means we lead by example and other times it means by leading with words, either way we should try and remain respectful, not as a reflection of their character but of ours.

    • Kelley. Two words: THANK YOU for this thoughtful comment on our blog post. You are *absolutely* right, and that’s why we wanted to draw people’s attention to this serious issue. People can really be scarred by criticism over what you eat. I’m especially glad that you got over this problem and that you understood that society can sometimes influence some of our actions. Take care!

  2. Since I’m out for most of the day, I do eat while I’m on the bus or when I’m walking so I’d probably got stares and didn’t notice hehe but If I get weird looks (and notice), I would not say anything, just raise an eyebrow as if to say “what!” (cause they literaly know nothing about me) and would continue eating. If someone yells or say something to me on the street i would say “what do you careee” :)

    • Yes! very good answer. I think that one should try to not be very aggressive with the answer, but to be blunt is vital. Also, the important thing is that you don’t feel ashamed at all by what other people say. Hugs!

Write your thoughts...

