Kim’s Ugly Duckling Story

If you go to our Pinterest board called Ugly Duckling Stories, you will find Kim’s story under the name Maria. However, we are posting it today with her real name. Kim is one of our heroes, and after all the things she’s been through, she has shown us what girls are made of: courage, perseverance, hope, and love.

Leave us a comment for Kim, and check out the touching words she wrote a year after she sent this to us…

Trigger warning: suicide, sexual abuse, mental abuse

I am an Evil Regal that found love and got my life back because of Lana Parrilla and the TV show Once Upon A Time.
My story is one that is not easy to tell. My life was not the easiest to live.

When my father left us I was 8 years old; this is when I began having problems.

I have two younger siblings that automatically became my responsibility. My siblings and I dealt with abuse on a daily basis, both physical and mental. I cannot remember a happy moment ever in my childhood. My mom was so devastated because of the divorce that she decided to have a life of her own.

We bounced around between houses for years, until I was about 12. Then we were just left alone. Before we moved into a new house we lived in the country. There was a
boy that was friends with my brother that lived near by.

let your voice be heardHe was about 15 and I was 10. It took me years to realize what he did, but he molested me for 2 and a half years. I think about it everyday, and it has kept me from having a relationship with anyone. As a teenager I was pretty much a loner. My life at home was just as hard as life at school. I spent a lot of time alone in my room with my imagination and music.

I had so many dreams of being able to leave and build a new life for myself. I was forced by my mom to move in with my dad at 16. He is a drinker, and gets angry. My dad is also a very big racist that hates all things and people different from him. Therefore, life with him was not pleasant.

He trained me very well to hate as much as he did. I went around with so much anger inside of me and negativity. It was about 3 years ago that a light bulb went off and I changed completely, which angered everyone in my family. I am now a liberal, and support all equal rights, and women’s rights to choose. This is why most all of my family hate me.

I spend most of my days arguing and defending myself. I have dealt with depression off and on since I was 10, and bouts with anorexia and suicide as a teenager. Last year the depression came back strong, and the thoughts of hopelessness and suicide also. I have tried to get help but my family does not recognise it as an illness.

At 28 years old I had found myself alone with no way out but death. At this point, my lowest point, was when I found Lana Parrilla, one of the actresses from Once Upon a Time. As I watched the show, I found myself connected to the pain of Regina. She so desperately wanted happiness and to be loved, which is all I have ever wanted. As I researched more, I found the Evil Regal community and decided to join in.

I was so amazed at how wonderful they all were! For the first time in my life I have been making friends! Friends that I truly trust and care about. Even though we are all over the world, we are all connected spiritually.

This all happened because of Lana, and Once Upon A Time! All of these beautiful souls are finding acceptance because of a TV show! I gain strength from it and from them every single day. When my bad days come around and I am virtually on the edge, I get on Twitter
and almost immediately I feel better!

I know it sounds pretty silly, but it is true. I have been given enough strength to leave my bed and go back to school so I can leave and find my place in this world.

I so desperately want my voice to be heard against racism and hatred, and to help those that deal with abuse or depression.

Lana’s symbol of hope means so much to me. I have a feather tattooed on my wrist with “You are where you need to be. Just take a deep breath” written under it.

This has helped me in so many ways! It is something that I can look at every day to remind me that no matter how hard times get there is always hope, there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. I am a survivor because of this TV show, Lana Parrilla, and all teh fans that are there constantly giving me support.

My life has made me a stronger being, and I will always be grateful for what I have been given. Thank you all for reading my story, and for giving me my life back! I could never thank Lana enough for what she has done, and continues to do so daily.

Let your voice be heard and never be ashamed of who you are, you are a beautiful creation on this planet!

Kim also sent these few words to us today.

April 15th, 2014: I remember when I submitted my ducklings story, about a year ago now, that I was just beginning to accept what happened to me. For many years I felt as though I would never find anyone to love me. I felt broken, damaged, as though the universe was against me. But telling my story started to help me heal, I opened myself up and about a month later, and thanks to the show, I found my soulmate. We have now been together almost a year, and she is the love of my life.

It truly has been the best year of my life. I hope that my story helps you in some way. Always know that you can survive the storms, you are strong and beautiful. My contact information is in my story. If anyone ever needs someone to talk too, or to just have someone to listen, I am available anytime. Please feel free to contact me. And remember to stay strong and always stay positive!

We’d like to thank Kim for her courage and for sharing her life story with us. Click here if you want to contact her. 

One thought on “Kim’s Ugly Duckling Story

  1. I wish I could be as courageous as you! That’s all I really want to say ^_^ it was really brave telling all this, and I am amazed at your propensity to be optimistic, even though you weren’t for the time. Did Once Upon A Time really change you to be that way? Because you ended up standing up to your family and that takes a lot of guts! Do you still feel any negativity towards your parents? Anyway, at least despite all that you ended up finding your happy ending! :)

    Best wishes to you and your soul mate
    And again, I wish I was as courageous as you

Write your thoughts...

