A Woman Who Inspires Allanah

We continue with our amazing blog series for Women’s History Month, and today is Allanah’s turn. She was kind enough to send us this text, where she reveals that it’s not really one person in particular who she feels inspired by. 

 

Women who inspire

The women who inspire me aren’t necessarily famous or even well off. The women who inspire me are the ones who go through life and are able to face adversity and stand up for what they believe in. That’s not to say that some of these women aren’t famous some are but it’s not because they are famous that they inspire me.

The first of these women is my mother; it seems cliché, but it’s true. I love my mother. She is the one who taught me to stand up for what I believe in and to stand on my own two feet. Both in a literal sense and figuratively. She is one of the reasons I strive to be my best even on days when I feel my worst.

Hamlet, by ShakespeareIn my English class recently, we were discussing Hamlet and in this discussion, the role of women came up. There are only two female characters in Hamlet and in the times of Shakespeare, women were treated as second class citizens and had to be obedient to men. We started comparing how women were treated then and now.

It came to light that while there are some differences, some things are still the same; there are still misogynistic people in the world, people that believe that being female makes you less of a person. Because of this, strong women in general inspire me, because in a world that could still be called patriarchal, they stand up for themselves and their rights.

The next women who inspire me happen to be famous. Both Lana Parrilla and Jennifer Morrison inspire me. They are strong women and are able to speak out if something unjust is happening. Lana spoke at a human rights campaign gala recently and she was speaking out for what she believed in and what she thinks is right. While I’ve never met either of these woman, to me they seem like the kind of people who you could be yourself with and would accept whatever flaws or differences you may have.

I look up to all these women, not only for what they believe but what they do to stand up for what they believe in. If you are a woman making your way and trying your hardest, even if you are having some troubles, I look up to you. Even if I don’t know you. Because you are trying and you are alive and doing what you can. These are the thing I look for in inspiration.

You have something inspiring about you. You do. Even if you don’t know it.

A proud ugly duckling,
Allanah

Allanah is 16 years old and lives in Australia. She is currently in her final year of school and enjoys writing and maths. We want to thank her deeply for sending this piece! 

3 thoughts on “A Woman Who Inspires Allanah

  1. Reblogged this on fquddus2012 and commented:
    This is a great post about the strength of women no matter who you are, that being strong starts with going through a struggle, and that is what makes you inspirational!

  2. Wow thanks for writing this. You make girls who don’t feel strong at all, very strong people indeed. I feel good reading this :)

Write your thoughts...

