Sherry’s Ugly Duckling Story

Why I'm an Ugly Duckling banner

March is here and it’s the time of the year to create awareness on self-harm and the effects it has on so many teenagers, young adults and people from all walks of life.

That’s why we wanted to post the story that we got from Sherry* almost a year ago. Don’t hesitate to leave a message for her after this post, as we’ll pass your comments on to her. Remember that you can also check our Resources page in case you or a friend of yours need any help.  

Trigger warning: self-harm

My father left me when I was a month old. He had a choice whether or not he wanted to see me and he chose not to. I always thought it was my fault.

The one person I always had sticking up for me was my Grandma. She always made me feel loved even if I was having a hard time with my mom. On the 9th of March, 2007, I was told that she had terminal cancer and that I wouldn’t have much time left with her.

I cried for about three days straight and then, being the little 7 year old I was, I promised that I would be strong for us both until we had to say goodbye so that I could spend time with her while I could. On 18th March, 2007, my Grandma passed away but I never got the chance. This is the reason why I haven’t cried in the last 6 years.

I started looking for my father but could never find him. When I was 9, two years after she died, I started self-harming because I felt like I couldn’t handle everything that was going on in my life.

In January 2011, I saw the promo for Once Upon a Time and the first thing that caught my eye wasn’t the magic or the happy endings. It was the fact that a little boy that was close to my own age could find a lost parent and be able to have her in his life somehow.

My love for this show also helped me believe that I should value who I am…

Emma Swan showed me that even the least expected person can help others and that, even though it is just a show, that I am not alone. I am not the only person that people who know me call me strong but wants to fall apart.

I still self-harm but not as much because this show helped me realise that I am not alone there are other people who have been in this situation that can help me.

This is why I’m an Ugly Duckling.

Sherry*

*Name changed per poster’s request.

2 thoughts on “Sherry’s Ugly Duckling Story

  1. Thank you so much for submitting this story! It actually made me confront the fact that I too am a fatherless daughter. Perhaps my case is a bit different, but a lot of the same effect. It’s easier to push issues aside and blame them on yourself than to confront them head on. Your story I know will truly help others. Walk tall.

Write your thoughts...

