What Ugly Ducklings Thought of FROZEN

banner-frozen-do-you-want-build-snowmanI didn’t know a lot about the movie FROZEN when it was being advertised. I had read one article about it before it was even released. It was a feminist article telling people to boycott the movie because the writers had taken the tale and twisted into a “typical” Disney, “anti-women” movie. When I found out I was going to be doing training in the same city fellow duckling Belle lived in, I was happy at the opportunity to see her again (we met earlier this year at a Jenny Simmons’ concert – check out our blog from then); when she suggested we go see Frozen together because the night I was free from training was opening night, I was totally on board (it’s not really being a critical eye if you boycott a movie before anyone has seen it just because of some blog’s perception of what the movie is about). I was not disappointed in the movie and, in fact, left it with a whole lot of reasons of why people (mainly women) SHOULD go see it! Apparently, I wasn’t alone. I asked for our fellow Ugly Ducklings to write in some comments. Check out what they had to say (if you haven’t seen the movie yet – honestly, what are you waiting for? But also, these contain lots of spoilers, so you might want to wait until you’ve seen it to keep reading):frozen-poster-small

Belle writes, Hi, my name is Belle! On November 27th 2013, the newest animated Disney film Frozen was released. I was lucky enough to be able to see it opening night with my fellow Ugly Duckling, the wonderful Erin. As you can probably expect we were not disappointed! Frozen is an extremely inspiring film that I believe everyone can benefit from seeing. This powerful tale of two sisters, the outgoing Anna, and the emotion-concealing Elsa, truly teaches a strong message about discovering yourself, and the power of family. This film is a perfect representation of what The Ugly Ducklings is all about, rising above self doubt, and becoming the strong swan we are all destined to be. I personally related to Elsa on a very emotional level; I have always struggled with letting people in, and as a big sister I have often felt it my duty to conceal what I am feeling, and to just be the good girl I always have to be. This film taught me that some things are not meant to be kept to myself, and that it is okay to let people help me. Ultimately, we can all relate to this fantastic film, and there is certainly a little Anna and Elsa in all of us. There is no doubt that Frozen has made an impact on my journey to discovering my true self.

Jordan writes, Such an adorable film. I saw it around Thanksgiving and is easily one of my top Disney films because of the amazing music and the beautiful story of these sisters. It’s great to see true love applied to family and friends. And the snow was beautiful! I cried during Let it Go because the powerhouse vocals of Idina Menzel combined with the amazingly accurate animation of the snow and ice. This movie has a special place in my heart and is a wonderful, wonderful film for all ages.

Simone FrozenSimone writes, Let me start out by saying that I have known the story “The Snow Queen” by H.C. Andersen ever since I was a little girl and I have always loved it, so I was so excited to learn that Disney was making it into a movie. Though I can’t say that I really recognized anything from the original story, expect from the part were Anna was hit in the eye by Elsa’s ice… BUT that doesn’t mean that I don’t like Frozen. In fact, I love it! And I have been to the movies to see it twice with my 4 year-old niece, because she’s completely in love the movie as well. But it’s not just that the movie is amazing, it’s also the animation and details, the music, the humour, and the fact that this isn’t an usual “Disney Princess” story where the girl gets the guy; it’s about how “an act of true love” doesn’t have to come from someone you are in love with, it can also be from the love of family and friendship. I would like to end this of with a quote from my niece, “This movie is seriously good!”

Maddie writes, Frozen is a movie about sisters overcoming obstacles. It is also about sacrificing oneself for love. Frozen is also about girl power. It shows girls/women that they don’t need a man to save them.”

Sarah writes, When it came to the character of Elsa, she struggled with the fear of hurting the people she cared about with her magical ice powers for most of her life. Elsa’s parents brutalize her instincts so that even as an adult, she lives in constant fear of herself. Even after the death of her parents, those lessons to “conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know” were so ingrained into her brain that she continued to keep herself isolated for another three years. It wasn’t until she ran away after her powers being discovered, that she found the beauty and strength of her powers and herself. When Anna confronts Elsa about Arendelle freezing over when Elsa ran away, Elsa begins to breakdown, lets the fear back in and for a moment, loses control of her powers. She exclaims that she can not control the “curse” and didn’t want Anna to get hurt again. This was Elsa’s moment of feeling like an Ugly 

let it go

Duckling. From her parents’ brainwashing, she saw her power as a downside and believed she was a danger. After almost losing Anna, she realized that what she has is not a curse but a gift and was able to unfreeze Arendelle with love.

Prutha writes, In order to get into law school every applicant usually has to submit a personal statement as a part of their application package. If I had to write one again, I’d most likely have written one linking Disney’s Frozen (2013) to my aspirations of attending law school. The story itself is undoubtedly brilliant but what would make me want to write about it specifically is Idina Menzel singing “Let it Go”; there was something about hearing Idina Menzel belting out the song lyrics that nearly got me jumping out of my chair and mimicking the beautifully animated Queen Elsa. All of the emotions rushing through me in that theater – it’s difficult to describe. Rarely do films make me want to be 12 years old again! I applaud Disney for reminding me why I want to become an entertainment attorney! I merely hope to be a part of a team that makes future films just like Frozen possible.

“Let it go, let it go! When I’ll rise like the break of dawn! Let it go, let it go! That perfect girl is gone!”

mellowdramaticsHow true all these reactions are! And Frozen very much conveyed the same message Ugly Ducklings Inc tries to spread: be who you are, you can’t hold it in – just let it go! Furthermore, this movie skims the surface of communicating what isolation and a lack of proper love and upbringing can do to a girl: the choices it can force a girl into that she doesn’t even know she is making: when Anna is so desperate for love and affection that she literally agrees to marry the first man that she meets (did I mention, LITERALLY? He was pretty much the only human being she had ever had contact with apart from her mother and father), Disney is definitely touching on a subject that’s marginalized in this type of film. Mainly that marrying someone you just met without getting to know them might not be the best idea.sisters

I also personally loved the sisters message throughout the movie. I love the playful love between the girls when they are little as the movie begins. I love Anna’s personality: “The sky’s awake, so I’m awake, so we have to play!” – how many dramatic toddlers do you know like that? They perfectly captured that playful, carefree spirit that many little ones possess. Do You Want to Build a Snowman is both hilarious and heartbreaking and by the end, really emphasizes just how alone the girls are together.
Showing that Elsa was willing to live her whole life in total isolation to protect her sister, because she was so afraid of hurting her, was incredibly song writing. I’d be happy to do that too, if it meant my sister would be safe, because I love her so much. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a movie that has a powerful connection like this between sisters (Charmed is the closest thing that comes to mind). And really, let’s be clear about another message it’s sending: true love’s kiss is totally overrated!

Tell us, Ugly Ducklings – what did you think of this great movie?

swan out

– Erin

Write your thoughts...

