We need to put an end to bullying, or don’t we?

What if it's in your hands?

How many people are advocating putting an end to bullying?

How many times a day do you hear the word? Is it in school? On TV perhaps?

What if you see someone else being bullied right now? Do you do something to stop it? Or you just think to yourself: 

“Whoa! I’d better get the hell out of here because it’s none of my business”

There’s a viral video with more than 2 million views that was posted a few days ago called THE BULLYING EXPERIMENT, by fouseyTUBE. And just… 

How did that make you feel?

How did the girl in this part make you feel?

How did this guy make you feel?

What about her?

And what can you say about these people?

I know what some of you will say: “Oh, I’ve been bullied myself, so I’ve seen and suffered it. That’s why I wouldn’t like to get in the middle of it”. And that’s just one of the possible answers some of you might have. Here’s another one: “I might get hurt, and I wouldn’t like that, so I prefer not to step in and help the guy”. Or, or: “Those types of situations really scare me, so I just run away from them”

So, if we don’t help to stop it, how will the problem of bullying be solved? I myself don’t have the answer because, I will be honest with you, I fit in one of the above quotes. But I will also confess this: this video I just saw just made me think it over and made me realize that I can be one of those who help make a change.

So Ugly Ducklings, what do you think? Feel free to comment below and tell us what you would do if this happened next to you. Have you been brave enough to face a bully?

Here’s a couple of reasons why people in the video reacted the way they did…

Three reactions of people

So, what would you do?

– Marie,

The Tail Shaker.
The Ugly Ducklings Inc's swan

2 thoughts on “We need to put an end to bullying, or don’t we?

  1. It’s so hard to give an answer to your question: ‘what would you do?’ Of course it depends on the situation. Maybe you feel threatened as well? To be really honest, I don’t think there are many people out there who would intervene. I’m not sure what I would do in certain situations. It also has something to do with the feeling that ‘it’s none of your business,’ that people decide to stay out of it. Call it cowardice. Call it instinct. It’s all about human emotions and how humans are taught and trained to react.

    I don’t think that I can answer your question, unless I’ve been in a certain situation myself. At this point, I can’t give an honest answer to that, simply because I was never in such a situation. People who say that they already know what they would do, without ever having to deal with something like that before, to what extend can they be trusted? You simply cannot predict these things.

    • You are right in what you mention here Maaike. It’s difficult to give an answer. I gave mine, which is “run away because it scares me”. But I would like to test my bravery and try to help those who are being bullied. I’d have to make the decision real quick, and assess the situation, to see if it’s not too dangerous for me.

      But I’d love to be able to say that I can stand up for someone else. Let’s wait and see if I can. I’ll get back to you on this one…

Write your thoughts...

