How big is your brave?

Captura de pantalla 2013-06-30 a la(s) 22.00.55

“If you want your voice to be heard… you’ve got to use it.” – Jennifer Pastiloff

***Ducklings… we understand there is some concern about our song choice for this project, but please rest assured, if you give this your best chance and sing along with the melody in whatever range you can, we will take care of the rest.  Give it your best and leave the rest up to us. This is a difficult song, but we feel that the song picked us. Please don’t try to hit note for note with Sara Bareilles unless you are a trained singer. Just worry about singing the melody. It will all work out!

When we first launched our twitter page (@uducklingsinc), we began posting songs that inspired us Ugly Ducklings.  We called this the “Ugly Ducklings Playlist” and we blogged about it here.

Shortly thereafter, one of our recent followers on twitter sent us an amazing song that has since become like a theme song for us Ugly Ducklings (thank you so much @foreignlolly for sending us this song!  Thank you Sara Bareilles for writing and singing it!).

Now, we have an idea.  And we want you to be a part of it!

We are launching an Ugly Ducklings Virtual Choir!  And we want YOU to be in it.  That’s right, YOU… don’t slam your computer closed after reading that… Just keep reading.

Likely some of you are thinking something like “But I can’t sing” or “I’ll sound horrible”.  But… here’s the thing.  Let me be frank with you.  It’s true… some people cannot carry a tune to save their life.  Are you one of those people?!  I don’t know. What I DO know is that… in a choir… ONE voice doesn’t stand out.  That’s the whole point.  We’re joining our voices together in one song. 

1420877_30040587DARKNESS

I am not going to say I can’t sing… I will say I am not very confident in my abilities.  And let me tell you, I’ve already done my recording for this song: we probably couldn’t have picked a more difficult song for the vast majority of people to sing (okay, you got me, if we picked “I will always love you” by Whitney, that would be a bit harder).  BUT I know that with everyone singing, no one will be able to judge my maybe-not-so-great singing.  No one will even be able to pick me out of a crowd.

So, here’s what we need you to do:

1. Learn the song.  This is very important.  You can’t sing the song if you don’t know it.

2. Find some kind of decent-ish quality recording device (computer mic, cell phone, iPod, etc).

3. Record yourself singing the song (NOTE*** We CANNOT have ANY music from the actual song in the background of your recording.  We know you’ll want to listen to the song as you sing, but please do so with HEADPHONES so we don’t get feedback from it!)

4. Email us the file (uglyducklingsinc@gmail.com)… or post it on youtube marked as private and give uglyducklingsinc permission to see it so we can download it.

5. Keep checking back for us to post the final product.

Let’s do this, Ducklings.

Say what you want to say and let the words fall out.  

Honestly, I want to see you be brave. 

swan out

Erin J
The Beaky One

9 thoughts on “How big is your brave?

  1. Okay so I didn’t read the directions very carefully and I had a student sing with me on the recording – it’s a karaoke recording (purchased legally :) ) but it does have the background vocals on it. This was my student’s last lesson with me (she’s going off to college) but I can re-record it with just me if you don’t want the background vocals on it. Just let me know. So sorry to have taken so long. Love the song!!

    • Hi Laurie! We love love love that you want to make a part of this :) We don’t have a deadline at the moment, because we know that it takes time for people to be brave and to send it to us. Still, the sooner the better. Bunches of hugs!

Write your thoughts...

