Ugly Ducklings Playlist

ugly-ducklings-inc-playlist

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.       — Plato

musicspeaksMusic is an incredible thing.  I am a very musical person and I love all kinds of music.  I get yelled at all the time at home because I walk around humming or singing constantly.  I don’t think I’ve ever met a person who doesn’t enjoy at least some kind of music (even my mom, she just doesn’t prefer mine).  My Godmother and I got together once and she was observing that she never sees kids walking, waiting for the bus, or doing anything without earbuds in.  I agree that sometimes we could all use some silence, but music can be a powerful thing.  Music can inspire so many creative endeavours from writing new music to creating dances or igniting our souls to create other pieces of artwork, written work, media, ideas or movements (Sidebar: Check out our DuckYard to see what some of our Ugly Ducklings have created).

Music alsojenny impacts and changes lives.  When I think back to milestones, I often remember the music that went along with them: “I Hope You Dance” was sung by the choir at my Grade 8 graduation; “City of Angels” and “Calling All Angels” are songs I attribute to my best friend; and I already know what song I am going to dance with my dad to at my wedding.  I also remember the songs that have helped me through struggles, like “Voice Within“, “Rescue Me” and “Take These Things to Heart“.  I truly believe the right song at the right moment can change lives; I often accredit some major life changes or epiphanies in my life to hearing that right song at the right moment (like when I heard “Hope Now” by Addison Road/Jenny Simmons – that song saved my life).  I’ve known people to completely discard a song they have loved in the past because of the broken relationship the song reminds them of; the song is so intertwined with their emotions for the other person that it causes too much pain to hear it once those feelings are damaged.  The power a few words and notes can have on the human heart is truly endearing or truly staggering.

I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.   — Billy Joel


ush it 1Music also brings people together.  I was in a wedding last weekend and I didn’t know any of the other bridesmaids (some I’d never met, some I’d met once before).  But I am the type of person who hears a familiar song lyric in another form of speech and that song if immediately trapped in my head and I often begin singing and/or dancing to it on the spot.  This happened several times over the wedding weekend, and many of the other bridesmaids joined in.  We went from “Push It” to “Don’t Speak” to “Jolene” to “Going to the Chapel” to “Marry Me” and back again (and yes, we did the dance scene from the picture above), all day long which I’m sure was entertaining for the wedding paparazzi as well.  The girls and I bonded over music; it provided much needed comedic relief over the 
day and it provided an outlet for our energy, excitement and emotions.

One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.  — Bob Marley

My point in sharing this story is this: music is this incredibly amazing and important thing that can change lives.  There are many, lyricsmany songs out there that we believe will change or have changed lives in positive ways. As a result, we began something a few weeks ago on twitter called the #UglyDucklingsPlaylist and we’ve gotten our Ugly Ducklings to submit songs to us so we can pass them on to the other Ugly Ducklings.  You never know: maybe hearing that specific song on that specific day will change the life of one of our Ugly Ducklings?  We wanted the messages of these songs to be kind, loving, motivational, inspirational and beautiful because those are the messages we want this movement to spread.  We really want all our Ugly Ducklings to be brave, kind and honest while they’re on this journey.

kylerWe’ve kept track of the playlist, and all the songs people have sent us can be found in our “favourites” on twitter.  Below is a few of our personal favourites… We want to remind everyone that we don’t own these songs or have any affiliation with the artists (except we really, really love them); we simply love their creative and inspiring pieces and wish to share them with everyone.  Where it was possible, we’ve linked to the official youtube channel or music video of the artist as well as the artist’s official website.   Also, we will create a new blog post with all the songs you sent us, so keep the suggestions coming.  The only condition for them to make it to the playlist is that they are encouraging, optimistic songs, full of energy and beautiful words to build-up and share with other fellow ugly ducklings.

  1. Keep Calm, Carry On by Rob Gilesbraveis
  2. Brave by Sara Bareilles
  3. Brave by Idina Menzel
  4. Skyscraper by Demi Lovato
  5. I Stand by Idina Menzel
  6. Who I Am by Jessica Andrews
  7. You Can’t Win by Kelly Clarkson
  8. Nobody Ever Told You by Carrie Underwood
  9. Don’t You Know You’re Beautiful by Kellie Pickler
  10. Innocent by Taylor Swift

Music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy.  — Ludwig van Beethoven

swan out

Erin J
(The Beaky One)

One thought on “Ugly Ducklings Playlist

  1. Pingback: How big is your brave? | The Ugly Ducklings

Write your thoughts...

